Simon Carroll Workshop

25/06/2009

On the weekend of 15-16 May 2008, I (and many others) did a great workshop with Simon Carroll, a famous potter from UK. The workshop organised by Ceramic Victoria.

Over the weekend Simon show us how to push boundaries of ceramic – to work quickly and freely and to create some really ‘gob-smacking’ work.

He taught us how to throw and use plaster mould to alter the shape. I did not do try his throwing techniques as I am not a thrower but I did try his approach to make work quickly and freely. After the workshop, I certainly generate new ideas for my next series of work (see the last 2 images)

………Well, that was in 2008. Now, a year later, I just have a chance to really start develop the idea from Simon workshop!

Leave a Reply

